Willows Pediatrics Blog - We Know Kids
We Know Kids
Willows Pediatrics News
January 3, 2018

Car and Booster Seats – CT Laws

Car seat news

We would like to remind parents about Connecticut’s new requirements for the use of car seats and restraints. With the advent of a law passed in October 2017, Connecticut became the eighth state to accept the recommendations of the American Academy of Pediatrics that children remain in rear-facing child restraints up to 2 years of age.  Connecticut’s statutes also increase the age and weight requirements for the use of car seats and booster seats – to graduate out of a booster seat a child must be 8 years of age and weigh at least 60 pounds.  These requirements are based on the latest research from leading child safety advocates, and are intended to reduce injury if infants and children are subjected to intense acceleration and deceleration forces if a car accident occurs.  In addition, raising the age for graduating from a booster seat ensures that children are not taken out of booster seats before the adult seat belt fits properly.

Below are the child restraint requirements under the Connecticut measure:

  • Any child under 2 years of age, or weighing less than 30 pounds regardless of age, must be placed in a rear-facing child restraint/car seat with a five-point harness.
  • Any child 2 to 4 years of age, or weighing between 30 to 39 pounds regardless of age, must ride in either a rear-facing or forward-facing child restraint/car seat with a five-point harness.
  • Any child 5 to 7 years of age, or weighing 40 to 59 pounds regardless of age, must ride in a rear facing child restraint/car seat or a forward-facing child restraint/booster seat secured by a lap-and-shoulder seat belt.
  • Any child or adolescent from 8 through 15 years of age who weighs 60 pounds or more must use an approved child restraint system/booster seat or a safety seat belt.
Age and Weight Restraint Requirements
Under age 2 years, or under 30 pounds regardless of age Rear facing child restraint/car seat
Ages 2 through 4 years, or weighing 30-39 pounds regardless of age Rear or forward facing child restraint/car seat
Ages 5 through 7 years, or weighing 40-59 pounds regardless of age Rear or forward facing child restraint/car seat or booster seat secured by a lap/shoulder belt (seat belt).
Ages 8 through 15 years and weighing 60 pounds or more Child restraint or seat belt

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact your physician, PA, or nurse.  More information on child passenger safety is available at www.ctsafekids.org.

See the Safe Kids Booster Brochure.